«OPIOSTOP is more than
just a withdrawal procedure»

Dr Patricia Manndorff

WHAT IS OPIOSTOP?

OPIOSTOP is a safe withdrawal procedure for opiate dependents. The procedure is suitable regardless of whether the patient's dependency is the result of substance abuse (drug patients) or prescription drugs for chronic pain (pain patients).

 

Accelerated withdrawal procedure

The OPIOSTOP procedure is based on the ANR procedure (Accelerated Neuroregulation), which was further refined by Dr P. Manndorff. Based on the individual patient's needs, the procedure consists of the administration of drugs to block the brain's opioid receptors. This accelerated blocking triggers an acute, very severe withdrawal. In contrast to conventional withdrawal procedures, the accelerated blockade massively reduces the duration of the withdrawal from around 1-2 weeks to 5-6 hours.

 

Anaesthesia enables shortened withdrawal period

The body suffers all the withdrawal symptoms – pain, cramps, restlessness, stress – during this shortened withdrawal period. To keep the degree of physical discomfort to a minimum and to ensure a high level of safety, the treatment is carried out under general anaesthesia in an intensive care setting. As a result, the majority of the withdrawal symptoms are not consciously experienced.

 

More than a withdrawal procedure

The OPIOSTOP procedure aims to achieve an individualised partial blockade of the highly regulated receptors and reactivate the natural opioid system with endorphins. This allows the patient to again feel the positive effects of their own endorphins again so that the craving, the insatiable desire for the drug, disappears. OPIOSTOP is therefore more than just a withdrawal procedure. In addition to the actual withdrawal, the method involves the resetting of the nervous system, which has been altered by the opiate dependency.  

ONE-TO-ONE CARE DURING

THE WITHDRAWAL

The treatment is performed in the intensive care setting of the Interlaken Hospital, which forms part of Hospitals fmi AG. Each withdrawal using the OPIOSTOP procedure is personally carried out and supervised by Dr Patricia Manndorff an her team. During their entire time in the intensive care unit, patients receive one-to-one care by Dr P. Manndorff and the intensive care or anaesthesia specialists. After being transferred back to the general ward, patients are monitored by a staff member sitting at their bedside during the night. Read more about the treatment process.

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER THE WITHDRAWAL?

The shortened withdrawal procedure at Interlaken Hospital forms the first part of the treatment. Follow-up treatment with naltrexone is equally crucial to its success.

Follow-up treatment with naltrexone

After their withdrawal, patients must take Naltrexone in tablet form as a follow-up treatment to maintain the receptor blockade. The dosage and duration of the naltrexone treatment depends on the individual, but usually ranges from 25 to 50 mg/day for a period of 12 to 18 months. It is not possible to discontinue naltrexone for a short period of time, take opioids and then resume taking naltrexone. Patients' full cooperation is essential to the treatment's success.

Remaining active

In the period following withdrawal, it is important to stimulate the production of endorphins, which have been suppressed by years of opioid use. Patients are therefore encouraged to take regular physical exercise. A rich and balanced diet is also helpful, as long-term opioid use generally has a severe impact on the gastrointestinal tract.

Psychosocial aftercare

In cases where psychosocial problems led to opioid use or where opioid use has resulted in serious psychosocial problems, specialised psychological, psychiatric and social support is essential.

WHAT CAN BE TREATED WITH OPIOSTIOP?

OPIOSTOP is a purely medical procedure that treats only the physical dependency on opiates and ends the craving for opiates. The treatment cannot resolve other problems, such as psychological problems, behavioural patterns caused by the addiction or a patient’s longing for a «kick» or «flash» to solve or suppress their problems. Patients must take responsibility for these themselves. We can refer patients to a doctor from Interlaken Hospital's psychiatric services team for a consultation to obtain help and advice.

HOW OPIOSTOP WORKS

OPIOSTOP is based on the ANR procedure (Accelerated Neuroregulation) and comprises four treatment steps.

  1. The treatment aims is to flush out the opiate reserviors in the body's bone and fatty tissue by acidifying the metabolism.
     

  2. Under anaesthesia, a naltrexone blockade is used to regulate the opiate receptors,
     

  3. providing stimulation for the endorphin system, which has been suppreddes by the intake of ecternal opiates.
     

  4. The follow-up treatment consists of taking naltrexone in tablet form for a peroid of 12 to 18 months. Only then is the treatment concluded.

 

RISKS AND COMPLICATIONS

OPIOSTOP is a medical procedure conducted under general anaesthesia. The treatment complies with all current medical standards. Meticulous preparation, an intensive care infrastructure with continuous monitoring and exacting follow-up care ensure the maximum degree of safety. 

 

As is the case with any surgical intervention and anaesthesia, there is a low residual risk of problems and complications. Serious side effects are, however, extremely rare. A full medical history is important so that any relevant diseases (especially liver, heart and lung diseases, metabolic disorders, etc.), allergies or previous complications as a result of anaesthesia can be identified. 

 

The risks associated with anaesthesia are those of any routine surgical intervention, such as unexpected reactions to medications, respiratory disorders, cardiovascular reactions in the case of previous heart disease or complications caused by the insertion of the venous line. 

Psychological complications, such as depressive reactions, anxiety disorders, nightmares, etc., also very occasionally occur.

AT INTERLAKEN HOSPITAL

SINCE 2012

Dr Patricia Manndorff has been performing opiate withdrawal under anaesthesia at Interlaken Hospital since 2012. Until 2018, the treatment was offered under the name ANR (Accelerated Neuroregulation). ANR was founded by Dr A. Waismann and further refined by Dr P. Manndorff.

 

Under the name OPIOSTOP since 2019

Dr P. Manndorff has continuously refined the ANR procedure, drawing on her extensive experience as a result of the many treatments she has performed. Since 2019 she has been performing opiate withdrawal under anaesthesia under her own protected name, OPIOSTOP. Dr P. Manndorff attaches particular importance to individualised treatment, i.e. treatment that is tailored to the patient, personal one-to-one care of each patient during their time in the intensive care unit and advice before and after the withdrawal treatment.

 

Experience from over 150 treatments

The following important findings can be summarised from the more than 150 withdrawal procedures under anaesthesia conducted using the OPIOSTOP procedure at Interlaken Hospital:

  • OPIOSTOP is an effective, expedient and economical procedure for treating opiate dependency, regardless of the particular opiate the patient takes or the reason for the dependence.

  • OPIOSTOP is suitable for all forms of opiate dependency, irrespective of the psychosocial background.

  • OPIOSTOP is superior to traditional withdrawal procedures.

  • OPIOSTOP is safe. Any complications can usually be avoided, mitigated and resolved by a suitable intensive care setting.

OPIOSTOP

Spitäler fmi AG, Interlaken Hospital
Weissenaustrasse 27
3800 Unterseen

Tel. +41 33 826 26 26

opiostop@spitalfmi.ch

© 2019 OPIOSTOP / Hospitals fmi AG

«OPIOSTOP est bien plus qu'un simple sevrage»

Dr méd. Patricia Manndorff

QU'EST-CE QU'OPIOSTOP?

OPIOSTOP est une méthode de sevrage sécurisée
pour les personnes dépendantes aux opiacés. Peu importe que la dépendance résulte d'une consommation de drogue (
patients toxicomanes) ou du traitement de douleurs chroniques (patients douloureux).

 

Une méthode de sevrage accélérée

Le traitement OPIOSTOP repose sur la méthode ANR (accelerated neuroregulation ou neurorégulation accélérée), qui a été perfectionnée par le Dr méd. P. Manndorff. Le traitement OPIOSTOP consiste à bloquer les récepteurs aux opiacés dans le cerveau à l'aide de médicaments en fonction des besoins de chaque patient. Ce blocage accéléré déclenche un sevrage aigu et très intense. Contrairement aux techniques de sevrage classiques, ce blocage accéléré raccourcit considérablement la durée du sevrage, de 1 à 2 semaines environ à 5 ou 6 heures.

 

Une procédure accélérée sous narcose

Pendant cette phase de sevrage accéléré, le corps présente tous les symptômes de sevrage habituels – douleurs, crampes, agitation, stress. Pour atténuer le plus possible la souffrance physique et garantir un haut niveau de sécurité, le traitement se fait sous narcose (anesthésie générale), dans une unité de soins intensifs. Par conséquent, la plus grande partie des symptômes de sevrage ne sont pas ressentis consciemment.

 

Plus qu'un simple sevrage

Le traitement OPIOSTOP vise à induire un blocage partiel, selon les besoins du patient, des récepteurs disponibles en trop grand nombre et à réactiver le système naturel des endorphines. Les patients peuvent ainsi de nouveau ressentir les effets positifs de ces opioïdes naturels et le «craving», le besoin irrépressible de la substance, disparaît. OPIOSTOP est dès lors bien plus qu'un simple sevrage. Outre le sevrage proprement dit, la méthode implique une reprogrammation du système nerveux modifié par la dépendance aux opiacés.  

UN LIEN PERSONNEL AVEC CHAQUE PATIENT PENDANT LE SEVRAGE

Le traitement se fait dans l'unité de soins intensifs de l'hôpital d'Interlaken du groupe Spitäler fmi AG. Chaque sevrage selon la méthode OPIOSTOP est personnellement réalisé et accompagné par le Dr méd. Patricia Manndorff et son équipe. Pendant toute la durée du traitement aux soins intensif, chaque patient(e) est pris(e) en charge par le Dr méd. P. Manndorff et l'infirmier/ère en soins intensifs ou l'infirmier/ère-anesthésiste en charge selon le principe du «one-to-one care». Après le retour dans le service de soins classique, un membre du personnel soignant reste au chevet du patient pendant toute la nuit. Plus de détails sur le déroulement du traitement

QUE SE PASSE-T-IL APRÈS LE SEVRAGE?

La procédure de sevrage accéléré à l'hôpital d'Interlaken ne représente que la première partie du traitement. Le traitement consécutif par naltrexone est tout aussi important pour le succès du sevrage.

Suite du traitement par naltrexone 

Après le sevrage proprement dit, les patients doivent prendre de la naltrexone sous forme de comprimés pour maintenir le blocage des récepteurs. La posologie et la durée du traitement par naltrexone diffèrent selon les patients mais sont de l'ordre de 25 à 50 mg/jour pendant 12 à 18 mois. Il n'est pas possible d'interrompre brièvement le traitement par naltrexone, de prendre des opioïdes et de reprendre la naltrexone. La pleine implication du/de la patient(e) est essentielle à la réussite du traitement.

Rester actif

Pendant la période qui suit le sevrage, il est important de stimuler la production d'endorphines réprimée par des années de consommation d'opiacés. Les patients sont donc encouragés à pratiquer une activité physique régulière. Une alimentation variée et équilibrée a aussi toute son importance, car des années de consommation d’opioïdes ont généralement un impact important sur le système digestif.

Suivi psychosocial

Dans les cas où la consommation d'opioïdes a été en grande partie motivée par des problèmes psychosociaux ou où la consommation elle-même a entraîné de tels problèmes, un accompagnement spécialisé, psychologique, psychiatrique et social, est indispensable.

QU'EST-CE QU'OPIOSTOP PEUT EFFECTIVEMENT TRAITER?

OPIOSTOP est une intervention purement médicale qui traite uniquement la dépendance physique aux opiacés et met un terme au besoin irrépressible d'en consommer. Cette méthode ne peut pas résoudre d'autres problèmes, notamment psychiques, les habitudes comportementales créées par l'addiction ou la nostalgie du «flash» comme solution à tous les problèmes. C'est aux patients de prendre leurs responsabilités pour y parvenir. Nous pouvons toutefois organiser une consultation au sein du service psychiatrique de l'hôpital d'Interlaken, qui les aidera et les conseillera.

COMMENT ONCTIONNE OPIOSTOP?

Le principe de fonctionnement d'OPIOSTOP repose sur la méthode ANR (accelerated neuroregulation ou neurorégulation accélérée) avec un traitement en quatre étapes.

  1. Les réservoirs d'opiacés présents dans la graisse et les os sont d'abord noyés en acidifant le métabolisme.
     

  2. Puis on obtient, sous narcose, une réguation des récepteurs aux opiacés grâce à un blocage par naltrexone adapté à chaque patient.
     

  3. Le système d'endorphines inhibé jusque-là par la consommation d'opicés est de nouveau stimulé.
     

  4. La prise de naltrexone en comprimés se poursuit pendant encore 12 à 18 mois. Ce n'est qu'au terme de cette période que le traitement est terminé.

 

RISQUES ET COMPLICATIONS

OPIOSTOP est une intervention médicale réalisée sous narcose. Le traitement satisfait à toutes les normes de la médecine moderne. Une préparation minutieuse, le cadre des soins intensifs avec une surveillance de tous les instants et le suivi ultérieur étroit garantissent une sécurité maximale. 

 

Comme pour toute intervention chirurgicale et toute anesthésie ou narcose, il existe un faible risque résiduel de problèmes et de complications. Les effets indésirables graves sont toutefois extrêmement rares. Il est particulièrement important de recueillir une anamnèse complète pour identifier d'éventuelles maladies à prendre en compte (en particulier problèmes hépatiques, cardiaques et pulmonaires, troubles du métabolisme, etc.), allergies ou complications d'une anesthésie antérieure.  

 

Les risques liés à la narcose/anesthésie sont les mêmes que pour toute intervention chirurgicale de routine: p. ex. réactions inattendues aux médicaments, difficultés respiratoires, réaction cardiovasculaire en cas de maladie cardiaque préexistante ou complications liées à la pose de la voie veineuse.  

Des complications psychiques telles qu'une réaction dépressive, des troubles anxieux, des cauchemars, etc. peuvent aussi survenir mais leur fréquence est rare.

DEPUIS 2012 À L’HÔPITAL D'INTERLAKEN

Le Dr méd. Patricia Manndorff pratique le sevrage aux opiacés sous narcose depuis 2012 à l'hôpital d'Interlaken. Jusqu'en 2018, le traitement était proposé sous le nom d'ANR (accelerated neuroregulation ou neurorégulation accélérée). Le traitement ANR a été développé par le Dr méd. A. Waismann et perfectionné par le Dr méd. P. Manndorff.

 

Rebaptisé OPIOSTOP en 2019

Grâce à l'expérience tirée du grand nombre de sevrages réalisés, le Dr méd. P. Manndorff a sans cesse perfectionné la méthode ANR. Depuis 2019, elle pratique le sevrage aux opiacés sous narcose sous son propre nom protégé: OPIOSTOP. Elle attache une importance toute particulière à adapter le traitement au cas par cas à chaque patient(e), en le suivant personnellement pendant son séjour aux soins intensifs selon le principe du «one-to-one care» et en lui offrant des conseils personnalisés avant et après le sevrage.

 

Plus de 185 traitements à son actif

Les plus de 185 procédures de sevrage sous narcose OPIOSTOP réalisées à l'hôpital d'Interlaken permettent de tirer les conclusions suivantes:

  • OPIOSTOP est une méthode efficace, appropriée et économique pour traiter la dépendance aux opiacés, quelle que soit la substance opiacée consommée et le contexte de sa consommation.

  • OPIOSTOP est indiqué pour traiter toutes les formes de dépendance aux opiacés, quel que soit le contexte psychosocial sous-jacent.

  • OPIOSTOP a montré sa supériorité par rapport aux techniques de sevrage classiques.

  • OPIOSTOP est un traitement sûr. Les complications éventuelles peuvent généralement être évitées, maîtrisées et résolues grâce à la prise en charge aux soins intensifs.