The OPIOSTOP treatment
process in detail

KEY DATA

 

PLACE OF TREATMENT: Hospitals fmi AG, Interlaken Hospital

 

DURATION:

The actual withdrawal at Interlaken Hospital takes about 2.5 days. You then spend another two days in a hotel in Interlaken for the post-treatment phase.  

 

PSYCHIATRIC CARE:

Some patients prefer or require in-patient psychiatric care after withdrawal instead of the hotel phase due to their medical history and accompanying illnesses. This can take be organised at Interlaken Hospital as an inpatient in the psychiatric crisis intervention centre or close to the patient's place of residence.

 

MEDICAL TREATMENT TEAM:

Dr Patricia Manndorff
Head Physician, Institute for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine, Interlaken Hospital 
FMH Specialist for Anaesthesiology, Anaesthesiological Intensive Care Medicine

 

Dr Thomas Ihde
Head Physician, Psychiatric Services, Hospitals fmi AG
FMH Psychiatry and Psychotherapy

 

CARE TEAM:

The nursing team consists exclusively of specialists with a background in anaesthesia, intensive care and ward nursing, all of whom have received training in OPIOSTOP.

Information and
medical history
Before the withdrawal

You will receive detailed information about the procedure from Dr  P. Manndorff and her team prior to the treatment, during the course of which all your outstanding questions will be addressed. All the substances you have taken will then be listed in detail in your medical history. The anaesthesia procedure will also take into account any secondary diseases, drug intolerances or allergies and potential risks. Your motivation for undergoing the treatment and any concomitant psychiatric ailments and stumbling blocks will be discussed in a psychiatric screening. Your psychosocial background, important biographical data and resources in your environment for follow-up treatment will also be taken down.

Final consultation
Day 0

On the day prior to your admission to hospital, you will have a final consultation at Interlaken Hospital with Dr Patricia Manndorff and, optionally, with the specialist general practitioner. A final health check and assessment of your suitability will be conducted prior to the procedure. If you live a long way away, you will then check into a hotel in Interlaken for the first night. Your last meal before the procedure will be at 6 p.m.

Safe withdrawal
under anaesthesia
Day 1

You will be admitted to Interlaken Hospital at 7 a.m. in a sober state. There then follows a phase which lasts until 12 noon, during which your organ systems are calmed by regular medication and prepared for the coming withdrawal.

 

At 12:00 noon you will be transferred to the intensive care unit, where the anaesthesia will be initiated. The physical withdrawal then takes place, in the form of two to three naltrexone cycles, individually dosed to you over a period of 5-6 hours. 

 

During the anaesthesia and withdrawal, your clinical condition and changes in your values are constantly monitored, observed and reassessed. The treatment is tailored to your specific requirements and continuously evaluated. While under anaesthesia, withdrawal symptoms resulting from the body's stress response (norepinephrine) are actively treated to ensure that blood pressure, heart rate and respiratory rate remain within the normal range. The treatment is very safe: Dr P. Manndorff and the qualified care specialists remain at your bedside at all times.

 

The anaesthesia is concluded at around 6 p.m. Following the procedure, you will be monitored in the intensive care unit for a further two hours, during which time you will be supervised by the intensive care or anaesthesia team.
Dr Patricia Manndorff will continuously monitor your progress during this period.


You will be transferred back to the general ward at around 8 p.m. and will be accompanied by a staff member sitting at your bedside during the night. This makes it possible for gastrointestinal symptoms or restlessness to be treated immediately. The head of the anaesthesia team and Dr Patricia Manndorff will be on call for you overnight. You will enjoy the safety that a regional medical centre offering every medical and nursing service around the clock is able to provide.

Rest and relaxation
Day 2

The second day is devoted to rest and recuperation and treating any gastrointestinal problems, which are a common occurrence. You will be able to resume drinking and eating and may engage in short strolls. From the afternoon onwards, you may receive visits from relatives or friends. Should you have any mental health problems, we will arrange consultation with one of the doctors from the psychiatric clinic.

Transfer to hotel
Day 3

You will leave the hospital around midday and, accompanied by a friend or relative, will check back into your booked hotel in Interlaken. The accompanying person is required to motivate you to engage in physical and mental activities as quickly as possible. Such activities accelerate the production of endorphins and therefore your well-being, as they make it possible for a balance between opiate and receptor to occur more quickly. The medical responsibility for further treatment now passes from Dr P. Manndorff to the specialist general practitioner. He or she will visit you during the course of the day and call you for a telephone consultation in the evening.

Remaining active
Day 4

Be as active as possible on this day. In the morning and evening you will receive a telephone call from your specialist general practitioner and you will also be visited by him or her during the course of the day.

Final visit
Day 5

In the morning you will again receive a call from your specialist general practitioner and will receive your final visit from him or her at your hotel or Interlaken Hospital at around midday. You can then head home.

Recovery at home
Days 6 - 14

Please take at least two weeks off for the treatment. You will initially feel quite weak, you will not get sufficient sleep and will feel very sensitive, as feelings, sensations, smell and taste will be experienced in a completely different way after your withdrawal. After two weeks, you will have stabilised to a sufficient degree to be able to return to work.

Follow-up care
From day 15

After your withdrawal, you will attend scheduled follow-up examinations by your general practitioner or Dr P. Manndorff. At the outset, the follow-up examinations will be at regular intervals, then every two to three months as required. The dose of naltrexone must be taken daily and will be slowly reduced from the 12th month onwards. The medication can generally be stopped 18 months after withdrawal. You must follow the instructions that your specialist general practitioner gives you regarding the use of naltrexone to the letter or you will jeopardise the success of the treatment. The treatment is only concluded when you are no longer required to take naltrexone. Naltrexone is not addictive and is used to treat the pre-existing addiction. The drug is usually supplied on a repeat prescription and may be carried within the EU without any problems if you travel abroad.

OPIOSTOP

Spitäler fmi AG, Interlaken Hospital
Weissenaustrasse 27
3800 Unterseen

Tel. +41 33 826 26 26

opiostop@spitalfmi.ch

© 2019 OPIOSTOP / Hospitals fmi AG

Déroulement détaillé du
traitement OPIOSTOP

INFORMATIONS CLÉS

 

LIEU DU TRAITEMENT: Groupe Spitäler fmi AG, hôpital d'Interlaken

 

DURÉE:

Le sevrage proprement dit à l'hôpital d'Interlaken dure environ deux jours et demi. Vous passez ensuite de deux autres jours dans un hôtel d'Interlaken pour la phase post-traitement. 

 

PRISE EN CHARGE PSYCHIATRIQUE:

Après le sevrage, certains patients préfèrent ou nécessitent une hospitalisation dans un service psychiatrique au lieu du séjour à l'hôtel en raison de leurs antécédents médicaux ou de maladies concomitantes. Cette hospitalisation peut se faire à l'hôpital d’Interlaken au sein du centre psychiatrique d'intervention de crise, ou encore à proximité de votre domicile.

 

ÉQUIPE MÉDICALE:

Dr méd. Patricia Manndorff
Médecin-cheffe de l'Institut d'anesthésie et de médecine intensive de l'hôpital d'Interlaken 
Spécialiste FMH en anesthésiologie, anesthésiste intensiviste

Dr méd. Thomas Ihde
Médecin-chef des services de psychiatrie des hôpitaux du groupe Spitäler fmi AG
Spécialiste FMH en psychiatrie et psychothérapie

 

ÉQUIPE INFIRMIÈRE:

L'équipe infirmière se compose exclusivement de personnes spécialisées en soins anesthésiques, soins intensifs et soins hospitaliers spécialement formées au programme OPIOSTOP.

Information
et anamnèse
Avant le sevrage

Avant le traitement, le Dr méd. P. Manndorff et son équipe vous informeront en détails sur la méthode utilisée et répondront à toutes vos questions en suspens. L'anamnèse permettra notamment d'établir la liste de toutes les substances que vous avez consommées. L'équipe fera aussi le point sur vos éventuelles maladies concomitantes, intolérances ou allergies aux médicaments et risques potentiels liés à l'anesthésie. Un entretien de dépistage psychiatrique permettra de parler de votre motivation à suivre le traitement et d'éventuelles affections psychiatriques concomitantes ou possibles obstacles. L'équipe notera enfin le contexte psychosocial, vos données biographiques importantes et les ressources sur lesquelles vous pouvez compter dans votre entourage pour la suite du traitement.

Dernière consultation
Jour 0

La veille de votre hospitalisation, vous aurez un dernier entretien à l'hôpital d'Interlaken avec le Dr méd. Patricia Manndorff et, éventuellement, avec le médecin de famille spécialisé. Vous passerez aussi un dernier bilan de santé avant l'intervention et un dernier contrôle pour vérifier que vous pouvez bien bénéficier du traitement. Si vous venez de loin, vous passerez cette première nuit dans un hôtel d'Interlaken. Votre dernier repas avant l'intervention sera pris vers 18h00.

Sevrage sécurisé
sous narcose
Jour 1

Vous serez admis(e) le matin vers 07h00, à jeun, à l'hôpital d’Interlaken. Jusqu'à 12h00, s'ensuivra une phase qui vise à calmer les différents systèmes d'organes par l'administration régulière de médicaments et à les préparer au sevrage.

 

Vers 12h00, vous serez transféré(e) aux soins intensifs et mis(e) sous anesthésie. Puis viendra le sevrage physique, pendant lequel vous recevrez un dosage individualisé de naltrexone en deux à trois cycles sur une période de 5 à 6 heures. 

 

Pendant l'anesthésie et le sevrage, votre état clinique et l'évolution de vos valeurs seront surveillés et réévalués en continu. Le traitement est adapté au cas par cas et évalué en permanence. Pendant l'anesthésie, les symptômes de sevrage liés à la réaction de stress de l'organisme (noradrénaline) sont traités activement pour maintenir la tension artérielle, la fréquence cardiaque et la fréquence respiratoire dans les normes. Le traitement est très sûr: le Dr méd. P. Manndorff et son équipe de soignants diplômés sont constamment au chevet du malade.

 

Vers 18h00, l'anesthésie sera levée. Vous resterez encore deux heures en surveillance aux soins intensifs. Pendant cette période, l'infirmier/ère en soins intensifs ou l'infirmier/ère-anesthésiste sera directement à vos côtés.
Le Dr méd. Patricia Manndorff vous surveillera en continu.


Vers 20h00, vous serez de retour au service de soins classique. Un soignant restera à votre chevet toute la nuit afin de pouvoir traiter immédiatement d'éventuels symptômes gastro-intestinaux ou une agitation. L'infirmier-anesthésiste en chef et le Dr méd. Patricia Manndorff seront joignables et d'astreinte toute la nuit. L'hôpital d'Interlaken vous offre la sécurité d'un centre hospitalier régional avec tous les services médicaux et infirmiers que cela implique, 24h/24.

Repos et tranquillité
Jour 2

Le deuxième jour sert à vous reposer, à récupérer et à traiter les troubles gastro-intestinaux fréquemment associés au traitement. Vous pourrez recommencer à boire et à manger et marcher un peu. Dès l'après-midi, vous pourrez avoir la visite de vos proches et amis. En cas de difficultés psychiques, une entrevue avec les médecins de la clinique psychiatrique peut être organisée.

Transfert vers l'hôtel
Jour 3

Vous sortirez de l'hôpital vers midi et retournerez à votre hôtel à Interlaken en compagnie d'une personne de confiance. Cet accompagnement est indispensable pour vous inciter à être physiquement et intellectuellement actif/ve le plus vite possible. L'activité stimule la production d'endorphines et améliore donc votre bien-être, car elle permet d'atteindre plus rapidement l'équilibre entre les opiacés et leurs récepteurs. La responsabilité médicale de la suite de la prise en charge passera dès lors du Dr P. Manndorff au médecin de famille spécialisé. Celui-ci vous rendra visite pendant la journée et vous appellera le soir pour un entretien téléphonique.

Rester actif
Jour 4

Soyez le plus actif/ve possible pendant cette journée. Le matin et le soir, vous parlerez au téléphone avec votre médecin de famille spécialisé, qui vous rendra aussi visite pendant la journée.

Visite finale
Jour 5

Le matin, vous recevrez un nouvel appel téléphonique de votre médecin de famille spécialisé et, vers midi, vous le verrez une dernière fois, à l'hôtel ou à l'hôpital d’Interlaken. Vous pourrez ensuite rentrer chez vous.

Rétablissement à domicile
Jour 6 à 14

Prévoyez au moins deux semaines d'arrêt au total pour le traitement. Au début, vous vous sentirez assez faible, vous ne dormirez pas suffisamment et vous aurez une sensibilité exacerbée, car vous aurez une perception toute neuve des émotions et sensations, notamment des goûts et des odeurs. Après deux semaines, vous serez suffisamment stabilisé(e) pour reprendre votre activité professionnelle.

Suite du traitement
À partir du jour 15

Après le sevrage, vous devrez vous rendre à des examens de suivi préalablement fixés avec votre médecin de famille ou le Dr méd. P. Manndorff. Ces examens seront rapprochés au début, puis espacés de deux à trois mois, selon les besoins. Le traitement par naltrexone doit être pris scrupuleusement chaque jour; sa posologie sera réduite progressivement à partir du 12e mois. Généralement, le traitement médicamenteux peut être arrêté 18 mois après le sevrage. Suivez scrupuleusement les instructions de votre médecin de famille spécialisé concernant la prise de naltrexone, sinon vous risquez de compromettre le succès du traitement. Celui-ci n'est réellement terminé qu'après l'arrêt de la naltrexone. La naltrexone elle-même n'est pas addictive; elle sert à traiter l'addiction préexistante. Ce médicament est généralement délivré sur ordonnance renouvelable et peut être introduit sans restriction dans les pays de l'UE si vous voyagez à l'étranger.