What are opiates and opioids?

More about substances.

WHAT ARE OPIOIDS & OPIATES?

Opiates and opioids are extremely powerful and highly addictive painkillers and narcotics. While opiates in the narrower sense are those substances that contain opium or opium alkaloids (primarily morphine), the term opioids refers to all substances with morphine-like effects. Morphine is the oldest and most relevant opioid and is considered the reference substance in pain therapy against which the analgesic effect of the other opioids is measured. 

The following substances are opiates

  • Heroin / dimethylmorphine (Diaphin®)

  • Morphine (Sevre-Long®, MST®, Sevredol®)

  • Hydromorphine (Palladon®)

  • Buprenorphine (Subutex®, Temgesic®, Transtec®)

  • Methadone / levomethadone (Polamidon®)

  • Pethidin (Pethidin®, Dolantin®)

  • Tilidine (Valoron®)

  • Tramadol (Tramundin®, Tramal ®)

  • Codeine (Codocontin®)

  • Oxycodone (Oxycontin®, Targin®, Oxynorm®)

  • Fentanyl (Fentanyl MAT®, Actiq®, Effentora®)

  • ...and others.
     

These drugs are sometimes also sold under other trade names abroad.

A chemical distinction is made between natural opioids (morphine, codeine, thebaine, papaverine, noscapine), semi-synthetic opioids (heroin, hydromorphone, nicomorphine, dihydrocodeine, hydrocodone, buprenorphine) and synthetic opioids (methadone, dextromoramide, tilidine, pethidine, pentazocine).

These substances cannot be treated with OPIOSTOP

Cocaine, amphetamines (crystal meth), cannabis, alcohol, benzodiazepines, ecstasy (MDMA) and other hallucinogenic party drugs are neither opiates nor opioids. These cannot be treated with OPIOSTOP.  

OPIATE dependency

The outcome is always the same for the patient, who cannot stop taking the daily dose without incurring severe or even life-threatening withdrawal symptoms. The procedure is suitable regardless of whether the patient's dependency is the result of substance abuse (drug patients) or prescription drugs for chronic pain (pain patients). Withdrawal under anaesthesia with the OPIOSTOP treatment method is effective for both types of dependency. 

OPIOSTOP

Spitäler fmi AG, Interlaken Hospital
Weissenaustrasse 27
3800 Unterseen

Tel. +41 33 826 26 26

opiostop@spitalfmi.ch

© 2019 OPIOSTOP / Hospitals fmi AG

Qu'est-ce que les opiacés

et les opioïdes?

Quelques explications sur

les substances.

QU'EST-CE QUE LES OPIACÉS ET LES OPIOÏDES?

Les opiacés et opioïdes sont des antalgiques et narcotiques très puissants avec un fort pouvoir addictif. Si les opiacés désignent, au sens strict, les substances qui contiennent de l'opium ou des alcaloïdes de l'opium – principalement la morphine –, le terme opioïdes recouvre toutes les substances ayant une action similaire à celle de la morphine. La morphine est l'opioïde le plus ancien et le plus utilisé. Dans le traitement de la douleur, elle sert de substance de référence par rapport à laquelle on mesure l'effet analgésique des autres opioïdes. 

Exemples d’opiacés:

  • héroïne /diacétylmorphine (Diaphin®)

  • morphine (Sevre-Long®, MST®, Sevredol®)

  • hydromorphone (Palladon®)

  • buprénorphine (Subutex®, Temgesic®, Transtec®)

  • méthadone/lévométhadone (Polamidon®)

  • péthidine (Pethidin®, Dolantin®)

  • tilidine (Valoron®)

  • tramadol (Tramundin®, Tramal ®)

  • codéine (Codocontin®)

  • oxycodone (Oxycontin®, Targin®, Oxynorm®)

  • fentanyl (Fentanyl MAT®, Actiq®, Effentora®)

  • ... et bien d'autres.
     

Ces substances peuvent être vendues sous d'autres noms commerciaux à l'étranger.

Sur le plan chimique, on distingue les opioïdes naturels (morphine, codéine, thébaïne, papavérine, noscapine), les opioïdes semi-synthétiques (héroïne, hydromorphone, nicomorphine, dihydrocodéine, hydrocodone, buprénorphine) et les opioïdes synthétiques (méthadone, dextromoramide, tilidine, péthidine, pentazocine).

La prise des substances suivantes ne peut être traitée par OPIOSTOP

La cocaïne, les amphétamines (crystal meth), le cannabis, l'alcool, les benzodiazépines, l'ecstasy (MDMA) ainsi que d'autres drogues festives hallucinogènes ne sont ni des opiacés ni des opioïdes. Elles ne peuvent donc faire l'objet d'un sevrage par OPIOSTOP.   

La dépendance aux opiacés

Le résultat pour les malades est toujours le même : ils ne parviennent pas à se passer de leur dose quotidienne sans ressentir des symptômes de sevrage sévères, voire susceptibles de mettre leur vie en danger. Peu importe que la dépendance résulte d'une consommation de drogue illégale (patients toxicomanes) ou du traitement de douleurs chroniques (patients douloureux). Le sevrage sous narcose par OPIOSTOP est efficace pour traiter ces deux types de dépendance.