Are you dependent on legally prescribed painkillers?

OPIOSTOP FOR PAIN PATIENTS

Opiate dependency is not always the result of illegal drug use, as is the case with drug patients. Dependency can also result from taking legally prescribed painkillers. This type of opiate dependency has increased enormously over the last two decades. The number of such patients is growing steadily and has already reached endemic levels in North America, with the result that the USA has declared the problem a national emergency.

Sudden dependency

Opioids such as morphine and fentanyl are often employed to treat severe pain.  This is routine in emergency units, operating theatres and outpatient clinics and the short-term administration of these drugs is not problematic. The situation is, however, different when it comes to chronic pain or a protracted painful illness. In such cases, doctors often resort to the administration of opiates (e.g. morphine, oxycodone and fentanyl). This initially brings the patient relief, but prolonged use gives rise to a habituation effect that requires a rapid increase in the dose, because there seems to be a lack of alternative options. This can, however, quickly lead to severe opiate dependency caused by these legally prescribed painkillers.

The following phenomena are typical for pain patients:

  • Persistent and only slightly diminished pain despite taking the maximum permissible doses of opiates.

  • Pronounced side effects, some of which severely impact on the patient’s quality of life.

  • Considerable hypersensitivity to pain at the site where the pain originated. Increasing the dose of opiates dose does not relieve the pain, but instead increases it. This phenomenon is called opioid-induced hyperalgesia.

 

OPIOSTOP can successfully treat dependency on painkillers

OPIOSTOP is suited to the treatment of this particular variant of opiate dependency, which has arisen due to chronic pain or a painful illness. In addition to numerous drug patients, Dr P. Manndorff has successfully treated more than 20 opioid-dependent pain patients at the Interlaken Hospital in recent years.

ADDICTION VS. DEPENDENCY

To understand how OPIOSTOP treatment works, it is important that we draw a clear distinction between dependency and addiction. Dependency corresponds to the irrepressible «craving», the immediate physical dependency. Addiction, on the other hand, corresponds to the «desire» for the euphoric feel-good effects of opioids, the «kick» or «flash», which is under conscious control.

OPIOSTOP only deals with dependency

OPIOSTOP treatment only treats the dependency. The success of the treatment is directly linked to the relative weighting of the dependency or addiction mechanisms in the patient's drug consumption behaviour.

BEGINNING AN OPIOD-FREE LIFE

Experience has shown that dependency is the dominant phenomenon in the majority of patients, which probably explains the good results obtained as a result of the OPIOSTOP treatment. Almost all successfully treated patients have already tried in vain to reduce and stop their opioid consumption and in some cases have undergone several withdrawal treatments and therapies. They generally found that they were able to reduce the dosage to a certain degree but were unable to take the final step and stop taking the drug entirely, as the side effects of restlessness, anxiety, tension, insomnia were too overwhelming. They were only able to begin a drug-free life after OPIOSTOP treatment.

 

ARE YOU SUITABLE FOR TREATMENT?

Both prospective patients and their relatives can contact us at any time to obtain information about the procedure without any obligation whatsoever. We would be happy to answer your questions.

Are you specifically interested in opiate withdrawal under anaesthesia? To find out whether you are suitable for OPIOSTOP treatment, please complete our medical questionnaire – we need to be able to make a realistic assessment of your situation.

OPIOSTOP

Spitäler fmi AG, Interlaken Hospital
Weissenaustrasse 27
3800 Unterseen

Tel. +41 33 826 26 26

opiostop@spitalfmi.ch

© 2019 OPIOSTOP / Hospitals fmi AG

Êtes-vous dépendant(e) aux antidouleurs prescrits légalement?

OPIOSTOP POUR LES PATIENTS DOULOUREUX

La dépendance aux opiacés ne résulte pas toujours d'une consommation illégale de drogue comme c'est le cas chez les patients toxicomanes. On peut aussi devenir dépendant des antidouleurs prescrits légalement. Ce type de dépendance aux opiacés a pris beaucoup d'ampleur depuis une vingtaine d'années. Le nombre de patients concernés est en constante augmentation et atteint un stade endémique en Amérique du Nord, si bien que les États-Unis ont déclaré l'état d’urgence national.

Une dépendance soudaine

Des opioïdes comme la morphine et le fentanyl sont couramment utilisés pour traiter des douleurs extrêmes.  Ils sont administrés en routine aux urgences, au bloc opératoire et lors de l'intervention des secouristes et ne posent aucun problème sur une courte durée. Les choses sont différentes quand il s'agit de traiter des douleurs chroniques ou une maladie douloureuse au long cours. Les médecins recourent alors souvent aux opiacés (p. ex. morphine, oxycodone, fentanyl), qui soulagent initialement les patients. Toutefois, leur utilisation prolongée provoque un effet d'accoutumance qui conduit rapidement à augmenter les doses, car il ne semble y avoir aucune autre solution. Cette situation peut vite créer une dépendance sévère à des médicaments prescrits légalement.  

Phénomènes typiques chez les patients douloureux:

  • Des douleurs persistantes et à peine atténuées malgré des doses élevés d'opiacés.

  • Des effets indésirables importants, qui peuvent considérablement affecter la qualité de vie.

  • Une hypersensibilité à la douleur souvent exacerbée au site d'origine du phénomène douloureux. L'augmentation des doses d'opiacés n’apporte pas de soulagement mais aggrave au contraire la douleur. C'est ce qu'on appelle l'hyperalgésie induite par les opiacés. 

 

OPIOSTOP traite avec succès la dépendance aux antidouleurs

OPIOSTOP est indiqué dans le traitement de cette forme particulière de dépendance aux opiacés apparue dans un contexte de douleurs chroniques ou de maladie douloureuse. Ces dernières années, le Dr méd. P. Manndorff a déjà traité avec succès plus de 20 patients douloureux dépendants aux opiacés en plus de nombreux patients toxicomanes.

ADDICTION OU DÉPENDANCE?

Pour bien comprendre le traitement OPIOSTOP, il importe de faire la différence entre dépendance et addiction. La dépendance correspond à un «besoin» irrépressible, c'est la dépendance physique immédiate. L'addiction, en revanche, correspond au «désir» conscient de retrouver l'effet de bien-être euphorisant des opiacés, le fameux «kick» ou «flash».

OPIOSTOP traite uniquement la dépendance

Le traitement OPIOSTOP permet seulement de traiter la dépendance. Le succès du traitement dépend directement de la part respective des mécanismes de dépendance et d'addiction dans le comportement du consommateur.

RECOMMENCER À VIVRE SANS OPIACÉS

L'expérience montre que le phénomène de dépendance est prépondérant chez une majorité de patients, ce qui explique probablement les bons résultats du traitement OPIOSTOP. La quasi-totalité des patients traités avec succès avaient déjà essayé en vain de réduire leur consommation et d'arrêter leur traitement et ont parfois plusieurs tentatives ou cures de sevrage derrière eux.

Ces patients ont presque toujours réussi à réduire les doses mais ont été incapables de franchir le dernier pas et de se passer complètement des opiacés, car les effets indésirables (agitation intérieure, anxiété, tension, insomnies) étaient trop importants. Seul OPIOSTOP leur a permis de retrouver une vie sans opiacés.

 

POUVEZ-VOUS BÉNÉFICIER D’OPIOSTOP?

Que ce soit pour vous-même ou pour l'un de vos proches, prenez contact avec nous à tout moment pour plus d'informations sur le traitement sans aucun engagement de votre part. Nous sommes à votre disposition pour répondre à vos questions. 

Vous êtes déjà pratiquement intéressé(e) par un sevrage aux opiacés sous narcose? Pour vérifier si le traitement OPIOSTOP est adapté à votre cas, remplissez notre questionnaire médical, qui nous permettra d'évaluer votre situation de manière réaliste.

Remplir le questionnaire